Bishop's Column

In the fall of 1990, Blessed John Paul II had a letter sent to all the bishops of the world inviting them to observe the 100th anniversary in 1991 of the publication of Pope Leo XIII’s renowned encyclical on social justice, Rerum Novarum.  Working in Boston at the time, I proposed to the Cardinal that I devote a weekly column in the Archdiocesan newspaper, The Pilot, to Catholic social teaching beginning with Rerum Novarum but setting forth the vast richness of...

More

Last Saturday the Diocese of Rockville Centre gained 11 new permanent deacons.

Last Sunday was Mother’s Day. As I prayed during that day for all

Easter 2011

Dear Brothers and Sisters in the Risen Christ:
    
“O Happy Fault, O Necessary Sin of Adam that has gained for us so great a Redeemer.” To one and all I send my prayers and best wishes for a happy and joyous Easter. Many years ago, one of my friends answered the every day question “what’s new?” by saying “Jesus Christ is Risen!” He is right because that is true. This is the only news that is always good and always new!

More than 10 years ago, the Diocese of Rockville Centre began a practice of having priests availabl

In my letter for the holy season of Lent, I took my cue from the Holy Father’s message and

Following last week’s column in which we reflected on Lent and our language

Every year Pope Benedict sends us a letter for our Lenten reading and reflection.

Bishop's Weekly Calendar

Wednesday, Oct. 10

Wednesday Oct. 3

Wednesday, Sept. 26

Wed., September 19

Thursday, Sept. 13

Wed., September 5

Mon., July 16

Wednesday June 27

Wednesday June 20

Tues., June 12 - Thurs., June 14