Bishop's Column

In the fall of 1990, Blessed John Paul II had a letter sent to all the bishops of the world inviting them to observe the 100th anniversary in 1991 of the publication of Pope Leo XIII’s renowned encyclical on social justice, Rerum Novarum.  Working in Boston at the time, I proposed to the Cardinal that I devote a weekly column in the Archdiocesan newspaper, The Pilot, to Catholic social teaching beginning with Rerum Novarum but setting forth the vast richness of...

More

Last week the G20 group of heads of governments met in Cannes

On October 27 last week, the Holy Father traveled to Assisi by train

In this homily to the Catholic Lawyers Guild of

This annual gathering to invoke the Holy Spirit to inspire and guide the men and women dedicated to the service of the law and justice is always an opportunity for me as leader

On January 5, 2001, Blessed John Paul II published his apostolic letter for the beginning of the new millennium, Novo Millennio Ineunte.

Last Saturday, the Religious of the Retreat of the Cenacle invited me to bless their new convent and retreat center and dedicate the beautiful new chapel

This year and in the years ahead, the US government will be implementing the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

In the days immediately following the violent attack on our country, an act that has

Bishop's Weekly Calendar

Wednesday, Oct. 10

Wednesday Oct. 3

Wednesday, Sept. 26

Wed., September 19

Thursday, Sept. 13

Wed., September 5

Mon., July 16

Wednesday June 27

Wednesday June 20

Tues., June 12 - Thurs., June 14