Bishop's Column

In the fall of 1990, Blessed John Paul II had a letter sent to all the bishops of the world inviting them to observe the 100th anniversary in 1991 of the publication of Pope Leo XIII’s renowned encyclical on social justice, Rerum Novarum.  Working in Boston at the time, I proposed to the Cardinal that I devote a weekly column in the Archdiocesan newspaper, The Pilot, to Catholic social teaching beginning with Rerum Novarum but setting forth the vast richness of...

More

On the eve of the annual Pro-Life March in Washington, Allison O’Brien,

This week’s Faith and New Works column is co-authored by Bishop William Murphy and Sister Joanne Callahan

My friend, Cardinal William Baum, who loves visiting Rockville Centre

Text of Bishop Murphy’s Christmas day homily at St. Agnes Cathedral

Bishop Murphy’s Christmas letter

Navidad 2011
Queridos hermanos y hermanas en Cristo Jesús:

Dear Children of the Diocese of Rockville Centre,

Here begins the Gospel of Jesus Christ, the Son of God!

This past Saturday brought another beautiful day in Rome.

When the pilgrims landed on the shores of the new continent,

Bishop's Weekly Calendar

Wednesday, Oct. 10

Wednesday Oct. 3

Wednesday, Sept. 26

Wed., September 19

Thursday, Sept. 13

Wed., September 5

Mon., July 16

Wednesday June 27

Wednesday June 20

Tues., June 12 - Thurs., June 14