Bishop's Column

In the fall of 1990, Blessed John Paul II had a letter sent to all the bishops of the world inviting them to observe the 100th anniversary in 1991 of the publication of Pope Leo XIII’s renowned encyclical on social justice, Rerum Novarum.  Working in Boston at the time, I proposed to the Cardinal that I devote a weekly column in the Archdiocesan newspaper, The Pilot, to Catholic social teaching beginning with Rerum Novarum but setting forth the vast richness of...

More

The most important religious and political event of this past week did not take place in our

Sunday, May 10 found Msgr. Morrissey and me at Our Lady of Consolation Home in West

All through the Easter season we hear the words of Jesus from a new perspective: we behold

This past weekend was not just picture perfect Long Island springtime. It also was a weekend

On March 25, the Feast of the Annunciation, a joyful group of Long Island pilgrims

Dear Sisters and Brothers in Christ Jesus:

Next Monday, April 6, our diocese will experience a wonder of wonders. The Monday

This past Sunday marked the middle point of our Lenten journey, Laetare Sunday.

Last week, His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI sent all the bishops of the world a message

Bishop's Weekly Calendar

Wednesday, Oct. 10

Wednesday Oct. 3

Wednesday, Sept. 26

Wed., September 19

Thursday, Sept. 13

Wed., September 5

Mon., July 16

Wednesday June 27

Wednesday June 20

Tues., June 12 - Thurs., June 14